How I embedded Malayalam font in my Blog

Recently I started writing blogs in Malayalam(my mother tongue).. I really enjoyed writing. Initially I had problems with the default keyboard provided byWindows.. So I decided to extend the keyboard.. Used the Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator and created a new keyboard that is used by the Supersoft-Web.. Using the Alt-Gr key I am able to get almost all the malayalam letters in a single keypress (of course, excluding Alt-Gr, Shift etc)..Now I enjoyed writing.. Evaluating its merit is not my job anyway.. But when I asked my friend to go through my blog, she told me that the only unicode Malayalam font in her system was Arial Unicode !!! The company policy doesnt allow to download anything !! So I thought of font embedding.. I posted a request for help in this regard.. But no one seemed interested.

I googled and knew about WEFT, installed it.. converted the popular AnjaliOldLipi (developed by Kevin) to eot format using WEFT allowing some of my websites and blogsites to use it..

Uploaded to my website..edited the template of my blogger blog..(wordpress.com doesnt allow to edit template, so I might switch to wordpress.org and host my blog elsewhere later) . I hard coded the font priorities to choose Rachana,AnjaliOldlipi,Kartika and then the AnjaliOldlipi(embedded) so that the persons with fonts installed will get the best display first.. Moreover Firefox doesnt support dynamic fonts… Any windows system will have an IE, so it works !!!

If anyone interested in a WEFT tutorial, there are lot of resources in the Microsoft website.. Still if I can be of any help, with pleasure, I welcome any queries !!


Technorati Tags: , , , ,

16 Comments

  1. Posted നവംബര്‍ 1, 2006 at 3:01 am | Permalink

    🙂

    good effort man. but there is still a long road ahead.

  2. Posted നവംബര്‍ 2, 2006 at 5:25 pm | Permalink

    Now I changed the font to Rachana_w01… The owners of the fonts, (AnjaliOldLipi and Rachana) please inform me if I have violated any of the license rules, or if you want me to take the font offline..This is/was an academic exercise.

  3. Posted നവംബര്‍ 30, 2006 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    Good work ! Congratulations🙂.
    “kaippalli is right, a long way to go; all the best🙂 “

  4. mathappan
    Posted ഡിസംബര്‍ 30, 2006 at 1:45 pm | Permalink

    very good keep it up mone…..

  5. Posted ഡിസംബര്‍ 30, 2006 at 1:47 pm | Permalink

    very good keep it up

  6. santhosh
    Posted ഫെബ്രുവരി 14, 2008 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    hi dear…

    i am really thankful for the informations and am really in need of some kinda help from you, hope u would hel me..

    i had several doubts in using the WEFT..

    can i design a page with malayalam text and ( prefer MLkarthika) and embed the font using WEFT locally..??

    am planning to upload my site later and i would not be able to upload my site as of now..

    how can i embed the font locally??..

    hope u are clear….

    and am anxiously waiting for ur valuable querries….

    thanks a lot..

    S A N T H O S H

  7. Posted മാര്‍ച്ച് 6, 2008 at 3:27 pm | Permalink

    If you prefer ML-Karthika, please make sure that you have license to embed the font.
    Also make sure you use a Unicode opentype version of the same.
    It is because WEFT embedding is supported only on Internet Explorer among the popular browsers.

    If you want to test the font locally, you can “host” it in your c: or so. WEFT , by default shows the path also.

    But I wont advocate font embedding. I used it only to help someone who cannot/couldn’t install any malayalam fonts.
    Its use should be very much limited, as it increases the page load time a little.

  8. Posted മാര്‍ച്ച് 6, 2008 at 3:29 pm | Permalink

    The tutorial link is given in the sidebar. It is now I realized that it was missing.

  9. thomas alexander
    Posted ജൂലൈ 4, 2008 at 8:35 am | Permalink

    i want2 right malayal in my site ,can u please send me the malayalm font which can be embed with weft,which have all letters in malayam and also the direction to ember the font

  10. Posted ഓഗസ്റ്റ് 28, 2008 at 7:34 am | Permalink

    I have used WEFT to embed ML revathi font,ML-karthika font but the problem in IE is the “kootaksharangal” is not showin properly in IE, but if the font is present in system no problem is shown in Mozilla,

    What should i do the font must be of similar architecture of karthika oe revatgi so my client could write it dynamically, can u help me, kootaksharan is show by some symbols and other characters

  11. Posted സെപ്റ്റംബര്‍ 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

    could u help me download ML-Revathi Malayalam Font?

    Thanks.

  12. Tijo
    Posted നവംബര്‍ 20, 2013 at 9:06 pm | Permalink

    Hi,

    Please help me…………

    i type Malayalam in MS Word Document, when i used this in website it is working correctly. Google search result and Dreamweaver display like this ( £{X§Ä sImïv k¼¶amb FdWmIpfw PnÃbnse tImXawKew Xmeq¡n ØnXn sN¿p¶ ]pWy]pcmX\amb )
    any solution for change this to correct malayalam in website source page and google search result and ?

    i have used font : ‘ML-TTKarthika’

    @font-face {
    font-family: ‘fml-ttkarthikabold’;
    src: url(‘../fonts/webfontkit/fmlkr0btt-webfont.eot’);
    src: url(‘../fonts/webfontkit/fmlkr0btt-webfont.eot?#iefix’) format(’embedded-opentype’),
    url(‘../fonts/webfontkit/fmlkr0btt-webfont.woff’) format(‘woff’),
    url(‘../fonts/webfontkit/fmlkr0btt-webfont.ttf’) format(‘truetype’),
    url(‘../fonts/webfontkit/fmlkr0btt-webfont.svg#fml-ttkarthikabold’) format(‘svg’);
    font-weight: normal;
    font-style: normal;

    }
    This used in the Web Page

    Thanks.

  13. lalu kunnath
    Posted ജൂലൈ 9, 2014 at 1:31 pm | Permalink

    I am using Rachana Malayalam software. I am only able to type the matter in it and cut and paste to ms word. Is there any possible way to type using this software directly in ms word and edit in itself. I am wellversed in rachana software only.

  14. Johnd85
    Posted ഓഗസ്റ്റ് 11, 2014 at 7:51 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for some other informative website. Where else may just I am getting that kind of info written in such an ideal means? I’ve a venture that I am just now working on, and I have been on the glance out for such info. efkbdaceeegk

  15. Posted ജനുവരി 11, 2015 at 4:39 pm | Permalink

    I read this post completely concerning the difference of newest and preceding technologies, it’s awesome article.

  16. Posted ജനുവരി 8, 2016 at 6:24 am | Permalink

    情報 あなたのサイトに。 ありがとうございますおかげでトン !。
    2015春夏新色追加 本日ポイント10倍 http://judrum.com


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. restaurantes en Santiago de Compostela

    How I embedded Malayalam font in my Blog « റാല്‍മിനോവ് :: Ralminov :: Ралминов

  2. AUTODEKOR s.r.o. 3M Armatur Design Cockpit Dekor

    How I embedded Malayalam font in my Blog « റാല്‍മിനോവ് :: Ralminov :: Ралминов

അഭിപ്രായം രേഖപ്പെടുത്തുക

Required fields are marked *
*
*

